Born to be Wild!   2 comments

Image: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What makes an effective sales person?

 

Is it a skill that can be learned, or are people born to it?

 

I’ve been pondering these questions after discussing them inconclusively with a friend over a curry a few nights ago.

 

I suppose I have worked in sales or sales-related roles for most of my adult life, ever since, as a spotty teenager, I sold flat-packed furniture to an unsuspecting public at weekends while completing my education. Looking back, I think that experience was really quite formative. It was a menial job, but the manager was someone I found to be inspirational, and the opportunity helped me to uncover talents I didn’t know I had.

 

Effective selling is firstly about communication. The manager at the furniture shop once told me “God gave you two ears and one mouth. That’s because he wanted you to listen twice as much as you talk!” And there’s an important rule, I think, for anyone in a selling role (and that covers a lot more people than just those who have the word ‘sales’ in their job title!) Listen to what the customer is saying. It’s so tempting, especially when there is a sales target to reach, to try and brow-beat a customer into buying what you have. But I learned a long time ago, that while I may be able to sell something to somebody that they didn’t really want, if I do then most likely I will never sell them anything again.

 

In most export roles, I think it’s fair to say that relationship building is paramount. When I talk to a potential customer for the first time, I very rarely come away with a sale, mainly because I am not trying to sell them anything, except for the idea that they might like to do business with my company. In international sales, there are cultural barriers to overcome, prejudices and preconceived ideas. Patience and persistence are my watch words.

 

Some knowledge of the country I am selling to can come in handy, too. I seem to have a lot of customers who are fanatical about football, and keeping up to date with their local teams and their progress has become a bit of a habit. Understanding the local economy and national affairs can be useful too, I’ve found, as well as knowing a bit of local history.

 

I’m not saying that my way is the only way or even the best way to approach export sales. All I am saying is it works for me.

 

Can someone learn how to be successful in export sales? Yes, I think so. But much of that learning will inevitably take place in the field. And success also requires an open mind, a willingness to learn and ideally, a genuine interest in other people.

 

A theology student once went to his tutor and asked him if he could recommend a good book on humility.

 

“Yes!” Replied the tutor, “Mine!”

 

And that I think is a crucial lesson for anyone in international sales. The day I think I know all there is to know about effective export sales is the day I stop being an effective export sales manager. The first rule to succeeding in this game is understanding how little I really understand.

Posted June 21, 2012 by exportersinexile in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

2 responses to “Born to be Wild!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very good write-up. I certainly love this site. Keep it up!

  2. I absolutely agree with the excellent article. In fact I think that if you are good at communicating and building relationships, then everything in life works in your favour. The bad days are the ones when you don’t get these two things right.

Leave a comment